You’ve deleted a file. So that’s it. It’s gone forever, isn’t it?

Err. No. It’s still on your hard drive.

The problem with computers is that they take short cuts. And one of the short cuts is that they don’t actually delete a file when you click delete. Occasionally, this can be useful because it means you can undelete a file that you’ve accidentally deleted.

But what can you do if you want to completely obliterate all traces of a file? Maybe you’re passing your old PC onto someone else and you’d rather the new owner had no chance of finding out all of your passwords and logins. Maybe you had some confidential documents from your company and you need to make sure that they’re not kept on your hard disk any longer than needed. Maybe you’ve deleted some emails that you don’t want anyone to be able to read.

Whatever the reason, simply pressing the delete button just won’t do the job properly.

Unless you are 100% certain that your computer will only ever be used by you and you alone, you need to make sure that the files you want deleted actually get removed totally.

This means that you’re going to need some help from a software program. The only other way is to format your hard disk tens of times and then splinter it into thousands of little pieces, there’s no way you can do this on your own.

Fortunately you can get some cheap software that will give you the same kind of file security the government would expect to use.

It will overwrite the space occupied by the file you want to delete. Not just once or twice (that’s still too easy to recover) but lots and lots of times. When that’s completed, not even the NSA’s high powered computers would be able to read the contents of the file.

Which means if you want to be completely certain that your files are permanently deleted, you need to download this software!

Be Sociable, Share!